September 5, 2014

Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Title: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1)
Author: Lindsay Cummings 
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release date: June 10th 2014
Source: Edelweiss
Format: eARC

Rating: 3.5/5

Buy onAmazon | B&N | BookDepository
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

This is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

The dystopian genre is one of my favorites and I still don´t get tired of reading it, and I sort of liked the idea of ​​The Murder Complex, which is quite dark, violent and bloody.

16 years old Meadow and lives in a walled city, that´s governed by the Initiative and where all citizens have their catalog number tattooed on their forehead, which allows the initiative to know all about them with the use of a code bar, also citizens have nanites in their blood which enables them to heal their wounds and diseases. But life in the Shallows is not easy, since the initiative controls and regulates all their food, their work and ideas and in addition to this the level of murder is very high, so there is some sort of imposed a curfew, but even with these nobody is safe. Meadow´s father has trained her all her life to survive in this dangerous world to be a survivor.

Meanwhile Zephyr is an orphan, whose work as the rest of the orphans is to be a ward, he works in the cleaning department, which is responsible for collecting all the bodies of the murder victims, clean the site and dispose of  the bodies.

By a twist of fate the lives of these two characters get intertwined and that's when the plot really begins, with the secrets and mysteries that begin to unfold and the truth behind the initiative and Zephyr´s himself, it starts to unfold gradually, until none of them knows who to trust.

The story is told from the point of view of Meadow and Zephyr, so we get to know both of them and their past.

Overall, The Murder Complex is a good start to a new series/trilogy, which takes place in a very dark, violent and intense world, with lots of action and an ending that hook me to read the next book.


  1. Oh good. I think this is the first review of this book that received it well. Most have been disappointed. I think I'd love to read it some time.

  2. I also enjoyed this one, even if sometimes by the second half of the book both POVs seemed a bit similar on occasion. I loved the world that Lindsay created and yeah, that ending made me really want to read book two STAT!

  3. Wow! i've been wanting to read this book! Nice review and i saw a lot of mixed reviews about this but let's see :)

  4. I have to read this now! I wasn't sure before, but after your positive review, it is a must read!

  5. This book just isn't getting the reviews that match the crazy hype that surrounded it. But that matters none to me, because I really want to read it. For me, dystopians are hit or miss lately, one being so much like the next. The Murder Complex just seems so different, and that excites me. I am definitely looking forward to it!

  6. It sounds like an interesting read, but there have been mixed reviews, so I'm a bit wary.

  7. I have been wanting to read this forever! But there are so many people saying its bad, so I don't know now.

    1. I´ve also read some negatives reviews about it and I agree that it´s not a book for everyone.... but I did sort of enjoyed it,

  8. This one sounds interesting! I, too, never get tired of the Dystopic genre even though I now a lot of people do. I would be willing to give this one a shot. :)

  9. This sounds good. Not great but interesting enough to look into. Thanks.

  10. I loved this book. Can't wait for the next book too. Thanks for sharing your review!