June 26, 2017

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme hosted by Book Date.
Each week we spotlight the books we are reading, planning on reading or just finished reading.

Click on the image to look description in Goodreads.

Finished reading
Dairy Queen (Dairy Queen #1) by Catherine Gilbert Murdock (3.5/5 stars)
The Off Season (Dairy Queen #2) by Catherine Gilbert Murdock (4/5 stars)
Front and Center (Dairy Queen #3) by Catherine Gilbert Murdock (3.5/5 stars)

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis (4.5/5 stars)
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee (4.5/5 stars)

Currently reading

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

What are you reading today?
Leave me your links!

June 20, 2017

Top Ten Series I've Been Meaning To Start But Haven't

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created bThe Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Series I've Been Meaning To Start But Haven't
(in no particular order)

YOUNG ADULT SERIES
The Winner's Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski 

The Remnant Chronicles series Mary E. Pearson

The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater 

Study series by Maria V. Snyder

The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Jasper Dent trilogy by Barry Lyga

ADULT SERIES
Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson 

Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab


The Others series by Anne Bishop

Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs


Have you read any of this books
Which one should I start with?
Leave me your link in the comments.

June 12, 2017

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme hosted by Book Date.
Each week we spotlight the books we are reading, planning on reading or just finished reading.

Click on the image to look description in Goodreads.

Finished reading
I See You by Clare Mackintosh (4.25/5 stars) Review
Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia (4.5/5 stars) Review

Currently reading
The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

What are you reading today?
Leave me your links!

June 9, 2017

Review: I See You by Clare Mackintosh


Title: I See You
Author: Clare Mackintosh
Publisher: Berkley Books
Release date: February 21st 2017
Source: Netgalley
Format: eARC

Rating: 4.25/5

Buy onAmazon | B&N | BookDepository
Every morning and evening, Zoe Walker takes the same route to the train station, waits at a certain place on the platform, finds her favorite spot in the car, never suspecting that someone is watching her...

It all starts with a classified ad. During her commute home one night, while glancing through her local paper, Zoe sees her own face staring back at her; a grainy photo along with a phone number and a listing for a website called FindTheOne.com.

Other women begin appearing in the same ad, a different one every day, and Zoe realizes they’ve become the victims of increasingly violent crimes—including murder. With the help of a determined cop, she uncovers the ad’s twisted purpose...A discovery that turns her paranoia into full-blown panic. Zoe is sure that someone close to her has set her up as the next target.

And now that man on the train—the one smiling at Zoe from across the car—could be more than just a friendly stranger. He could be someone who has deliberately chosen her and is ready to make his next move…
I See You is a thriller that grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go, the story was very engaging, it´s set in London and has the underground metro as an important part of the plot.

Zoe Walker is a 40-year-old working woman and mother of two young adults, she has the same itinerary from Monday to Friday, takes the metro to her work at the same time every weekday, tries to sit in the same car and walks along the same route and everything is normal until one day reading a local newspaper in the dating section she comes across a photo that looks a lot like her, and she could almost swear she´s the one on the picture, but she finds it illogical because she isn´t in any dating site and the ad only comes with a photo, a phone number and the website findtheone.com.

For her part Kelly Swift is a police officer whom years ago made a mistake at work, by which she continues to pay and which has relegated her to a work in which she isn´t happy and hopes that one day to be able to move up the ranks. From what we see of her, she´s a good police element, is good at researching, solve puzzles and feels empathy for the victims and at her current assignment she monitors the underground metro.

The lives of Zoe and Kelly intersect when the first, obsessed with the findtheone.com ads in which every day a photo of a different woman comes out and discovers that certain of the women have been victims of a crime ranging from robbery to murder.

The story is told from the point of view of Zoe and Kelly with chapters alternating between them and almost every 2 or 3 chapters we have the perspective or the thoughts of a stalker.
We are all creatures of habit.
Even you.
You reach for the same coat each day; leave home at the same time every morning. You have a favorite seat on the bus or the train; you know precisely which escalator moves the fastest, which ticket barrier to use, which kiosk has the shortest queue.
You know these things; and I know them, too. 
I See You is a suspenseful and exciting thriller, with situations that have you doubting all the characters that surround them, the last chapters had me desperate to know that it was going to happen, it´s quite intense and has an unexpected twist that left me with my mouth open. If you´re interested in reading a good thriller I recommend that you read this book. It´s really good.

June 8, 2017

Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia


Title: Eliza and Her Monsters
Author: Francesca Zappia 
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release date: May 30th 2017
Source: Edelweiss
Format: eARC

Rating: 4.5/5

Buy onAmazon | B&N | BookDepository
Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. 

First of all, I don´t like to compare books of one author with another, because it leads to create high or low expectations whatever the case may be, so if you are interested or curious about this book, do not read it with the expectation that is another Fangirl, yes, there are similar in some aspects but that´s it (this is my humble suggestion).

Eliza and Her Monsters is about Eliza Mirk, a shy, introverted and with social anxiety young woman, she´s happy immersed in her passion that is to draw her webcomic Monstrous Sea, which is a very popular and which she publishes weekly anonymously under a pseudonym. Eliza has millions of followers and fans, but she only has two best friends whom she met through her webcomic forum and they´re administrators of her website, but with whom she only interacts online, since one lives in Canada and the other in California, for that her offline life is lonely, which is how she wants it to continue, until she meets Wallace the new guy at school, whom is also very quiet, withdrawn and coincidentally is a fan of her webcomic and he writes fanfiction of Monstrous Sea.

The first thing that comes to mind to Eliza when she meets Wallace is that he is an athlete, since he has the physique of one, but from the time she realizes that he´s a fan and  fanfiction writer from her work everything changes, Like her, Wallace is also shy and he doesn´t speak in public, so the interactions between them in public are through messages either text or written on a sheet. It was nice to see how the relationship between the two begin very slowly, since both are extremely shy, but as initially both say half truths or omit things like the fact that Eliza is the creator of the webcomic Wallace loves, this is something that could cause them problems in the future.

Overall, I recommend you to read Eliza and Her Monsters, I loved it! It´s a very good book that deals with mental health problems, but another great part of it is about fandoms.

Something I liked a lot is that it contains illustrations from the webcomic, Monstrous Sea forum entries and text messages, unfortunately I read it in ebook format and the images were very small, but I hope someday to have a physical copy in my hands.

June 6, 2017

10 Books From Thriller/Mystery Genre That I've Recently Added To My TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created bThe Broke and the Bookish

10 Books From Thriller/Mystery Genre That I've Recently Added To My TBR List 
(in no particular order)

I usually don´t read many thriller/mystery/suspense books (this year I've read 2 from this genre so far) but I´m planning to read more books of this genre, so these are some of the ones that are on my TBR list.
Nearly Gone (Nearly Gone #1) by Elle Cosimano
The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis 
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Jackaby (Jackaby #1) by William Ritter
And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes 
I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

Lethal by Sandra Brown
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

I also would like to read Night Film by Marisha Pessl and Dangerous Girls
by Abigail Haas

Have you read any of this books
Please recommend me a book from this genre.
Leave me your link in the comments.