May 5, 2015

Review: The Replaced by Kimberly Derting

Title: The Replaced (The Taking #2)
Author: Kimberly Derting
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release date: April 28th 2015
Source: Edelweiss
Format: eARC

Rating: 3.5/5

Buy onAmazon | B&N | BookDepository

You can read my review of The Taking - here
Romantic and action-packed, The Replaced is the gripping second installment in the Taking trilogy.

Kyra hasn't been the same since she returned from her mysterious five-year disappearance. Now, on the run from the NSA, Kyra is forced to hide out with others who, like her, have been Returned. Yet she is determined to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted—all because of her. When her group intercepts a message that Tyler might still be alive but is in the hands of a shadowy government organization that experiments on the Returned, Kyra knows it's a risk to go after him. What if it's a trap? And worse, what if the returned Tyler isn't the same boy she lost?

Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the Body Finder series, The Replaced is both chilling and explosive, with creepy, otherworldly elements and twisty, psychological thrills that will have you questioning what exactly it means to be human. 

The Replaced is a book that I was eager to read because of the ending on previous book and I was very happy to find out that this book starts exactly where The Taking left off. Kyra hiding from the NSA (a governmental organization that captures the Returned), but at the same time trying to find news about her father and Tyler; so when she learns of a possible sighting of a boy that might be Tyler, she doesn´t think twice and decide to go in search of him which triggers a series of events that threaten them as returnees and in the company of Simon, Willow and Jett, she should seek shelter in a camp for returnees like no other that she has known so far and where she doesn´t know whom to trust.

I really enjoyed this second book of the trilogy The Taking, as we learn a bit more about the beginnings of the first meetings between the government and the aliens(?), about their deal with them and has some interesting twists that really surprised me,

The plot begins with a good pace, but soon it slow down in the middle, to then to pick up speed in the end, where secrets come to light, identities are known, we get to know a little more experiments on the Returned and there is a small confrontation. I liked the ending, it was good and solid. The Replaced is a good second book in a trilogy and I recommended it for those that like YA sci-fi books.


  1. OOoh nice review! I can't wait to read this one! Just need to fit it into the schedule! With about a million others!! LOL! Great review!

  2. I had no interest in this series at all. Lol. I don't know why. Glad you enjoy them!