June 30, 2015

Review: A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

Title: A Million Miles Away
Author: Lara Avery
Publisher: Poppy
Release date: July 7th 2015
Source: Netgalley
Format: eARC

Rating: 4/5

Buy onAmazon | B&N | BookDepository
Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.

When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.

Since I read the blurb of A Million Miles Away, I was intrigued and I also wanted to know how Peter could confuse his girlfriend with her twin sister and I liked that it was plausible in this case.

Kelsey is a senior on high school, one of the popular girls, co-captain of the dance group at school and has a handsome college boyfriend, she has a twin sister Michelle with which she often gets mistaken for. Michelle is also a senior, but she's more bohemian, she´s an artist, likes to paint and has a group of eclectic friends and has boyfriend - Peter, they´ve been dating for the last three months, but he doesn´t live in the same city and is about to be deploy to Afghanistan.

And it´s in the day that Peter is about to leave that he meets Kelsey, they strike up a conversation where she realizes that he´s in love with Michelle and ends up liking him (as the boyfriend of her sister), but that´s all their interaction before his deployment. soon after Michelle dies in a car accident, an event that devastates her family, Kelsey's parents start attending a support group without Kelsey (something that seems odd), so Kelsey is floating around in grief, meanwhile her parents are locked in their grief, her friends treat her with caution and her boyfriend wants to keep things normal, he expect to Kelsey to move on, Kelsey gradually starts to live again, only this time without her twin sister.

But one day through skype she receives a call from Peter and her initial intention is to inform him of Michelle´s death, but when he mistakes her, an calls her Michelle and he tells her that just seeing her encourages him and help him amid his situation in Afghanistan, she decided not to tell at the moment and wait for another time to tell him, but every time they talk or through his letters to Michelle there is something that prevents her to tell him the truth, plus she gradually begins to expect this time with Peter, so the lies keep piling up.

I really enjoyed reading A Million Miles Away, it´s a book worth reading, it's a poignant and heartbreaking, romantic (with long distance romance), but there were many times when I wanted to shake Kelsey, because she was still lying and the problem was growing. I do recommend it.


  1. Same here! I also wanted A Million Miles away since I read the summary on Netgalley. I'm glad you liked it. The story sounds really intriguing and heartbreaking.

    Haraiah @ Random Things In Action

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. I just read this one and I only thought it was okay. Honestly, I couldn't get past the cheating part of the book. I was not a fan of some of the decisions made by the main character.